Thread: Goodfella watches The Wire

(Users Browsing this Thread: )

Blog Entries

Goodfella watches The Wire

Ok so I decided to give it a fresh watch for the first time in a while and thought why not log some thoughts for the nhc. I'm not good at reviewing or whatever but lets see how this goes...

Episode 1

The Wire - The Target
    Original Airdate - June 2nd 2002

The one theme throughout the series will be the fast paced, non stop dialogue that gives its audience very little time to catch for breath. We are bombarded with information (names, places, job titles, etc) and expected to keep up and hold the information for when it next becomes relevant. It's something that makes reviewing this show very hard at times, but I'm going to try my best to try and give a decent run down of the events of the show, and my thoughts.

The opening scene dumps us out on some dirty porch in West Baltimore. We see a character whom we learn quickly is known as Detective McNulty, talk openly to a normal member of public about a street shooting which has just happened. Its amazing how much we learn in this short scene. This guy is a witness, and happy enough to talk about it with Detective McNulty as if they are best friends. McNulty is charismatic, able to charm a bird out of the trees. He humanizes the victim in ways other detectives (As we later learn) don't do, at least on the street with this guy, insisting "snot" is a terrible nickname. McNulty will be our shining light throughout a journey through the murky and muddled Baltimore underworld, taking us on a guided tour through the city, leading us through cracked and bloody streets, the narcotics and homicide divisions, the contested harbor waters and a hundreds of bars and other favored haunts of his in the city.

The episode shows us the now famous opening credit scene, as well as the episodic tagline that always features as a line of dialogue. This time it's "When it's not your turn".